Tale of Myanmar

A magical land of legends and secrets!

It was in March 2010, during a first trip to Myanmar, that Laura and Rosario met Malay, an exceptional local woman. Tour guide, multilingual, teacher, she is where you need her. It accompanies travelers in search of authenticity to meet its people, its culture, its joys and its difficulties. Traveling her country with compassion and humanism, she tells us about the daily life of the orphan children she meets daily on her way.

Through her gaze, her vision and her sensitivity, she communicates to us the actions to be taken. Touched by his commitment to others, his wisdom and his devotion, we decided to entrust him with a support project aimed at Burmese children, mainly orphans.

The first steps in Myanmar

In May 2010, with the help of several intermediaries, we managed to send Malay a first donation, thus improving the daily life of orphans taken in at the Buddhist temple in her village.

School fees are covered as well as the distribution of 50 uniforms, 10 bags of rice, clothes, various foodstuffs, a radio as well as a donation for the villages of Inle Lake. Malay walks to remote villages and donates clothing and school supplies, especially to the giraffe women’s community in the north where she also donates uniforms.

In an orphanage in the region, she discovers children sleeping on the floor. She then undertakes the construction of wooden beds and dresses them with mats, blankets and cushions.

In May 2014, our project manager traveled to Myanmar to meet Malay there, soak up his country’s pure gasoline and inspect the various sites. Since then, several missions have taken place to set long-term goals and implement AClem’s next actions in this magical land of legends and secrets.

The Aloha Orphanage

Wishing to contribute to the well-being of orphans and offer them acceptable living conditions and especially the hope of a better future, the AClem foundation has supported since 2014 the construction of a family house to provide a home and a family life to 20 orphans. Located in the town of Taunggyi, 20 orphans, mostly girls, grow up surrounded by their foster parents like large siblings.

They follow a normal course in government schools and Malay supports them to open the doors to university training! A great hope of success for these destinies broken from an early age.

During his missions AClem brings clothes, games, school materials and spends time with these children who like to show us their progress in English and make us participate in their songs and games.

Since February 1, 2021, Myanmar has made a comeback with the military coup. AClem continues to work with Malay who continues to educate the children from inside Aloha House; Malay also buys food for the village, which no longer has access to banks nor work. Myanmar is another forgotten country from COVID.

Inle Lake Elementary School

Inle Lake Primary School has 150 students aged 2 to 8 years old. It is located in a unique setting; on the water like the entire surrounding village. The children travel to school by local barge. Parents make a living mainly from fishing and growing tomatoes.

Although the school is government-owned, the AClem foundation has been working at Inle Lake Primary School since 2010 and has funded a number of projects there such as the separation of classrooms, the safety of the school grounds, provision of school and health equipment, renovation of toilets and the meditation place, painting of the building, distribution of school books and bags of rice.

Aloha Guesthouse

Inaugurated in October 2015, Aloha Guesthouse is a hotel establishment managed by Malay. With these few very private and authentic rooms, Malay welcomes visitors from all over the world for a stay at Inle Lake. A few minutes by bike from the center of Nyaung Shwe, this little haven of peace contributes financially to AClem’s actions in Myanmar and supports the development of projects for the orphans of Aloha.

.

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn

Le Myanmar

Une terre magique de légendes et de secrets !

C’est en mars 2010, au cours d’un premier voyage au Myanmar que Laura et Rosario rencontrent Malay, une femme locale exceptionnelle. Guide touristique, polyglotte, professeure, elle est là où on a besoin d’elle. Elle accompagne les voyageurs en quête d’authenticité à la rencontre de son peuple, de sa culture, de ses joies et de ses difficultés. Parcourant son pays avec compassion et humanisme, elle nous relate le quotidien des enfants orphelins qu’elle croise quotidiennement sur son chemin.

A travers son regard, sa vision et sa sensibilité, elle nous communique les actions à entreprendre. Touchés par son engagement pour les autres, sa sagesse et sa dévotion, nous décidons de lui confier un projet de soutien adressé aux enfants birmans, principalement aux orphelins.

Les premiers pas au Myanmar

En mai 2010, avec l’aide de plusieurs intermédiaires, nous parvenons à lui transmettre une première donation améliorant ainsi le quotidien d’orphelins recueillis dans le temple bouddhiste de son village.

Les frais de scolarité sont pris en charge ainsi que la distribution de 50 uniformes, 10 sacs de riz, des vêtements, des denrées variées, une radio ainsi qu’une donation pour les villages du Lac Inle. Malay se déplace à pieds dans des villages isolés et offre des vêtements et du matériel scolaire, notamment dans la communauté des femmes girafes, dans le nord où elle fait aussi don d’uniformes.

Dans un orphelinat de la région, elle découvre des enfants dormant à même le sol. Elle entreprend alors la construction de lits en bois et les habille de nattes de couvertures et de coussins.

En mai 2014, notre responsable de projets se rend au Myanmar pour y rencontrer Malay, s’imprégner de l’essence pure de son pays et inspecter les divers sites. Depuis, plusieurs missions ont eu lieu afin d’établir des objectifs à long terme et mettre en œuvre les prochaines actions d’AClem sur cette terre magique de légendes et de secrets.

L’orphelinat Aloha

Souhaitant contribuer au bien-être des orphelins et leur offrir des conditions de vie acceptables et surtout l’espoir d’un avenir meilleur, la fondation AClem a soutenu dès 2014 la construction d’une maison familiale pour donner un toit et une vie de famille à 20 orphelins. Situé dans la ville de Taunggyi, 20 orphelins, principalement des filles, y grandissent entourés de leurs parents d’accueil telle une grande fratrie.

Ils suivent un parcours scolaire normal dans les écoles gouvernementales et Malay les soutient pour leur ouvrir les portes de formations universitaires ! Un bel espoir de réussite pour ces destins brisés dès leurs plus jeunes âges.

Durant ses missions AClem y apporte des habits, des jeux, du matériel scolaire et passe du temps avec ces enfants qui aiment nous montrer leurs progrès en anglais et nous faire participer à leurs chants et leurs jeux.

Depuis le 1er février 2021, le Myanmar a fait un retour à l’arrière avec le coup d’Etat des militaires. AClem continue son travail avec Malay qui poursuit l’éducation des enfants depuis l’intérieur de la Maison Aloha ; Malay achète aussi de la nourriture pour le village qui n’a plus accès aux banques ni au travail. Le Myanmar est un autre pays oublié du COVID.

L’école primaire du lac Inle

L’école primaire du lac Inle compte 150 élèves âgés de 2 à 8 ans. Elle est située dans un cadre unique ; sur l’eau comme tout le village alentours. Les enfants se rendent à l’école en péniche locale. Les parents vivent notamment de la pêche et de la culture des tomates.

Bien que l’école soit gouvernementale, la fondation AClem oeuvre à « Inle Lake Primary School » depuis 2010 et y a financé un bon nombre de projets tels que la séparation des salles de classes, la sécurité du pourtour de l’école, l’apport de matériel scolaire et sanitaire, la rénovation des toilettes et de la place de méditation, la peinture du bâtiment, la distribution de livres scolaires et de sacs de riz.

Aloha Guesthouse

Inaugurée en octobre 2015, Aloha Guesthouse est un établissement hôtelier géré par Malay. Avec ces quelques chambres très privées et authentique, Malay accueille des visiteurs du monde entier pour un séjour au lac Inle. A quelques minutes à vélo du centre de Nyaung Shwe, ce petit havre de paix contribue financièrement aux actions d’AClem au Myanmar et soutient le développement des projets pour les orphelins de Aloha.

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn